Fishing with Undesirables … The Squirmy

So every now and again a fly or method comes along that divides opinion, in the past we have had The Blob or the rebirth of Tenkara. Over the last few months I have seen various fishing friends showing off their catches using a fly called the Squirmy, an odd fly… well worm really! I had managed to resist the powers of the Squirmy, until now…

IMG_1437

After a quick visit to see Toby at Funky Fly Tying I picked up the necessary materials and hit the vice. So after a bit of trial and error I soon found a way to attach the rubber material to the hook, add some dubbing and there it is.

IMG_1440

Today I headed down to the River Wylye with friend and casting instructor Dave Wiltshire and we gave the Squirmy a swim. To my horror success was almost immediate! A few lovely grayling graced the net with some horrid purple rubber in its mouth. Dave fortunately kept our dignity by catching some nice fish on pale pink shrimps.

IMG_1443

The squirmy, I may not like it, I may have to hide it, but I think it is here to stay!

IMG_1444

IMG_1449

The Ingredients:
Hook: Partridge Sproat Wet Barbless #12
Thread: Pink Veevus 14/0
Bead: Metalic Pink 3mm tungsten
Rubber: Funky Squirmy Rubber – Purple (Try other colours too)
Thorax: Pink and Purple UV Hareline

Tight Lines!

3 thoughts on “Fishing with Undesirables … The Squirmy

Leave a comment